Swatch Sampler Project

Double Crochet Tension

I wanted to understand a bit more about my crochet tension, so as I’m a geek I decided to set up a series of experiments.

For this experiment I used Stylecraft Special DK and KnitPro Waves hooks.

I made sample double crochet squares (each about 14cm x 14cm) using: 3mm, 3.25mm, 3.5mm, 3.75mm, 4mm, 4.5mm and 5mm hooks – giving 7 squares in total.

(Note: I’m using UK term – a US single crochet (sc) is the same as my double crochet (dc))

IMG_20170516_132723849

Using my ruler and pins I measured out 10cm square and counted out the number of stitches and the number of rows. I used this to calculated the stitch width and height. I double checked my figures by counting 10 stitches and measuring that, and 16 rows and measuring that and recalculating stitch width and height, and to be certain I then repeated all my measurements/calculations. Then I graphed my results:

DCTension

This shows by changing hook size:

  • I make my stitches wider,
  • I have varying impact on the stitch height.

I was particularly surprised that with the 3mm, 3.25mm and 3.5 mm hook there was hardly any change in height.

As part of my Swatch Sampler Project I am intending to repeat this experiment with different stitches, and probably redo the double crochet in case there was some anomaly with my stitching, the yarn or something else.

3 thoughts on “Double Crochet Tension

  1. That’s interesting. Of course 3mm and 3.25mm hooks are a bit small to use with DK yarn. Well in my opinion really. Maybe that has something to do with it. I would normally use anything from 3.5 to 5mm for the Stylecraft Special DK depending on what I was making.

    Like

Leave a comment