Swatch Sampler Project

Half Treble Tension

Carrying on with my geeky experiment I have now made 7 squares using the UK half treble stitch (that is usually abbreviated to htr it is the same as a half double crochet – hdc – in US terms).

IMG_20170527_144807380

I used the same approach to making the squares and measuring as described in Double Crochet Tension, and the same yarn (Stylecraft Special DK and KnitPro hooks).

HTRtensionIf we ignore the square produced with 3.25mm and 5mm hooks the width and height of the stitches are more or less increasing in proportion.

The 3.25mm square does seem to be an anomaly in the stitch height it produces. I may try making another square with this hook size.

The difference between the stitch heights and width is slight when moving from 4.5mm to 5 mm hook with this stitch.

I am making more samples so there will be more geekiness coming soon!

Leave a comment